Racin' News at It's Most Real

By Liam O'Brian

NASCAR Sprint Cup Team Line-up: 2017

Hendrick Motorsports:

5-Kasey Kahne: I believe Kahne will stay with Hendrick, as he is the future of that organization.

48-Jimmie Johnson: Johnson will have signed a lifetime contract with Hendrick by that time, and will stay.

88-Dale Earnhardt Jr.: Junior stays with Hendrick until he retires, renews his contract.

94-Chase Elliott(R): After Jeff Gordon Retires after 2015, Parker Kligerman takes over the 24, after a sub-par 2016, Chase Elliott takes over the 94 in 2017 as a rookie.

Joe Gibbs Racing:

11-Denny Hamlin: Denny Hamlin remains with Joe Gibbs Racing.

18-Kurt Busch: Kyle Busch's contract runs out at the end of 2013. Joe Gibbs pulls a quick one and signs brother Kurt. Gibbs harnesses his inner coach and Kurt Busch mellows out permanently.

20-Matt Kenseth: Matt Kenseth isn't going anywhere. Will retire at JGR.

76-Darrell Wallace Jr.(R): Bubba runs 2013 under the KBM banner. Replaces Brian Vickers in the Nationwide #20 in 2014. Runs three years in Nationwide and comes up in the fourth JGR team for 2017. Runs for ROTY.

Roush Fenway Racing:

6-Trevor Bayne: Bayne comes up to run full-time in 2014. Still with the team in 2017.

16-Regan Smith: Smith wins the Nationwide championship in 2013 and 2014. Greg Biffle's contract is not renewed at the end of 2014 and Roush signs Smith.

17-Ricky Stenhouse Jr.: Stenhouse remains with Roush. Becomes the top driver there after 2014.

99-Carl Edwards: Cousin Carl remains with Roush through 2017 and beyond.

Richard Childress Racing:

3-Austin Dillon: No surprise here. Dillon moves up in 2014 and bring the #3 with him.

27-Paul Menard: Menard becomes more and more competitive as time wears on. Remains with RCR and is a stout contender to make the Chase every year.

31-Greg Biffle: Childress signs Ryan Newman for 2014. Newman underperforms, and Childress replaces him with Greg Biffle in 2015.

41-Ty Dillon(R): Ty Dillon brings his special #41 to Cup. Runs for ROTY.

Michael Waltrip Racing:

15-Clint Bowyer: Bowyer remains with MWR. No change here.

55-Brian Vickers: Vickers takes over for 2014 and beyond. No change afterwards.

56-Martin Truex Jr.: Truex remains with MWR. No change here.

Stewart-Haas Racing:

10-Danica Patrick: Danica remains despite performing like crap. She makes everyone too much money to go anywhere else.

14-Tony Stewart: Stewart obviously remains. No change.

29-Kevin Harvick: Harvick remains also after starting in 2014.

84-Kyle Busch: Kyle moves teams in 2015, and lands at SHR. He does very nicely with the team.

Penske Racing:

2-Brad Keselowski: Keselowski remains here. No change.

12-Sam Hornish Jr.: Hornish finally comes up to Cup in 2014 after an amazing NW run in 2013.

22-Joey Logano: Logano remains with Penske. No change.

Richard Petty Motorsports

9-Michael Annett: Ambrose retires after 2015. Annett takes over. Runs for ROTY.

43-Aric Almirola: Almirola becomes more competitive. Remains with RPM.

Earnhardt-Ganassi Racing

1-Ryan Newman: Newman takes over for 2015 and beyond after being canned from RCR.

42-Kyle Larson: Larson takes over also for 2015 and beyond.

Furniture Row Racing:

78-Jamie McMurray: After being canned from EGR, McMurray finds his home at Furniture Row. Does not perform well, as the RCR support decreased after Kurt Busch left.

Turner Scott Motorsports: (comes up to Cup in 2014)

28-Elliott Sadler: Sadler comes up to Cup with TSM in 2014 for the veteran leadership that the team needs.

30-James Buescher: Buescher comes up to Cup with TSM in 2014.

32-Justin Allgaier: Allgaier comes up to Cup with TSM in 2014.

Notes: Team will get engines from Hendrick.